Online Shop
Contact Us
FAQ
Calendar
Garage
Facebook
Twitter
Youtube
Advertise With Us - Reach your target market by advertising on the Difflock.com forum.
Click here or call 0845 125 9407

Winch Wiring and Protection

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Difflock Forum Index -> Electrical, Comms and ICE
View previous topic :: View next topic  
k16tomcat
Gate Opener

Odometer: 5

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 9:15 pm    Post subject: Winch Wiring and Protection Reply with quote

Hi all,

I am very new to the whole off road game but I think I am progressing and learning as I get into it.

I know this is a controversial subject, some people go without fusing the winch line and others like to but finding a fuse that would be reliable with such high demands is often hard to find. Not to mention the inconvenience if it blows when you're in the middle of no where and you really need the winch.

I am in the camp that is all for protecting the live line and I have spent some time determining how I would like to isolate it when I am not using it and also to fuse it against any problems that may be caused by a short circuit.

What I am trying to gauge at the moment is how much interest from others there may be in setting up there winch wiring safely and what people would be willing to spend on a wiring kit.

I have achieved a system that will reliably power the winch with no worries of a surge blowing a fuse but that will isolate it from the battery before a short circuit occurs. It is easily resettable requiring no parts replacement after the cable has been visually confirmed ok and can be isolated to prevent it from triggering a second time if you're satisfied there is no danger.
It allows the winch cable to be isolated from the battey when it is not in use.
Provides a high level of protection for the cable minimising the chance of a short circuit in the first place.

I would like to hear as many different peoples opinions on this; good, bad or indifferent.

Carl
RichardD